You Get Wise. You Get to Church

Great scene from the Blues Brothers (from imdb):

Curtis: Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he’s got to say.
Jake: Curtis, I don’t want to listen to no jive-a** preacher talking to me about Heaven and Hell.
Curtis: Jake, you get wise. You get to church.

 X-Alt’s going to be doing the music for the service at East End United Methodist this Sunday.   The is a great chance for many of you East Enders (even the ones who don’t go to church) to come see us do our thang.  If anything, just come a revel in that wonderful old building.  Lord, how I love to just sit in it and look around!  And the acoustics – well – they just don’t make buildings like that anymore.

And won’t it be entertaining to see me praying for forgiveness for my bizarre accent prejudice?

You can take a look at the bulletin here ; that will give you some idea of the songs we are doing.  The service starts at 10:30, so if you’ve been out partying with Newscoma the night before, you won’t have to get up toooo early.

Do you see da’ light?  Come on over and have some fun with us!

3 Responses to “You Get Wise. You Get to Church”

  1. newscoma Says:

    Oh Goodness. My reputation is headed slowly down the toilet.
    It’s the reason I live in Hooterville. When I leave town, I just try to cram too much into too little time.
    P.S. I blame Smiley.

  2. jagadiah Says:

    I will most definitely try to be there – I’ve been meaning to get back to church, and this will be great incentive to start this week!

  3. hutchmo Says:

    Jag – save me a couple of seats..thanks.


Leave a Reply

