Discrimination

Microsoft Word’s spellchecker gives me the little red squiggles for:

Zaphod
Trillian
Lintilla
Slartibartfast

However, there are no “you can’t spell, you dumb dope!” squiggles for:

Gandalf
Aragorn
Galadriel
Frodo

I know geeks. I am one of their High Priests. But I can tell you, the ones in Redmond need to expand their horizons a little.

2 Responses to “Discrimination”

  1. John H Says:

    I am surprised they don’t know YOUR ‘name’. I always thought that D. Adams was an oracle (whoops, maybe not the word that should be used in conjunction with the Microserfs)..

  2. Kat Coble Says:

    It didn’t used to be that way. The spellcheck seems to have learned those in the last 5 years (after the movies’ popularity.)

    See, if HGTTG had been a better picture, maybe they would have fixed those too…..

    (Yes. I still bear a grudge against the HGTTG movie. I actually fell asleep in an Adams picture. I could either go through life ashamed or bear a grudge against the filmmakers. So, naturally, I’ve decided in favour of the grudge.)


Leave a Reply

